Into Thin Air – Paragliding in Bled

I am not an adrenaline junkie. I’ve never seen the thrill in bungee jumping or skydiving. For what, so you can get bragging rights? Yet I really wanted to try paragliding. It seemed to be as close to flying as I could get in this lifetime.

Bled is a beautiful place to go paragliding. The morning we went, it was extremely foggy and at one point, it was uncertain whether we can continue as the fog did not seem to clear. Although this was something I’ve always wanted to try, there was one moment while we were standing at elevation 1220m overlooking the fields far below that I thought “maybe it’s for the better that we cannot fly today”. Suddenly, as if answering my thoughts, the skies cleared. The instructors immediately started preparing the gears and equipment. “Who wants to go first?”

Nobody answered in our group of four. Somehow I ended up going first. I casually asked the instructor how long he has been flying for, trying to judge if I was in safe hands. Thank goodness he has been flying for more than 20 years. I am supposed to run as fast as I can downhill towards the edge of the cliff and keep running until we’re up in the air. “I am a bit scared,” I admitted.

“Your guy is more scared than you,” the instructor replied. It made me laugh and calmed my nerves a little.

Soon we were off. I had absolutely no clue what I was doing except I was running and suddenly there was no ground beneath me anymore. I slipped back into the seat made by my backpack. It was freezing cold and my fingers were numb. Once we slipped into and out of the fog, we could see the lush green fields and mountains in Lesce. It was an aerial view of very uniform fields with various shades of green. Looking back into the direction of where we launched ourselves into thin air, I see other parachutes in the sky. Looking in front, I could see the horizon. It was an absolutely amazing feeling to float peacefully through the sky. There is nothing quite like it.

Definitely one for the bucket list!

It was very foggy while we were waiting to run off the edge of the cliff.

It was very foggy while we were waiting to run off the edge of the cliff.

And we're off!

And we’re off!

An easy and gentle landing.

An easy and gentle landing.

2 thoughts on “Into Thin Air – Paragliding in Bled

Leave a Reply

